top of page

The Ema Marx Series

DH CA_Ebook.jpg

Dark Heirloom

Book One

Vampires. Shifters. Nephilim. Ema Marx is their savior, but she can’t believe the bloodsuckers exist. Or that she’s one of them.

Sure, night vision and super strength are cool, but when an ancient premonition threatens her life, Ema just wants to get the hell out of dodge. Or in this case, the mysterious castle she wakes up in.

Jalmari is a vampire prince with a bad attitude. He wants nothing to do with Ema, until he discovers she's a threat to his throne. Now he's out for blood. Ema's blood.

Ema's survival hangs on her ability to stay one step ahead of Jalmari while curbing her own morbid thirst. Can she save herself, or will she succumb to a dangerous destiny?

Dark Heirloom is the first installment of the 5x award-winning Ema Marx series. If you like strong female heroines, lots of action, and a hint of romance, then you'll love J.D. Brown's gripping urban fantasy world.

Available in Print, Ebook, & Audio
Amazon   |   Barnes & Noble   |     Apple iBooks   |   Kobo   |   Books-a-Million   |   Scribd |  Audible

Dark Liaison

Book Two

Vampires. Shifters. Zombies.

Ema Marx has her work cut out for her after accidentally unleashing the evilest creature in history. Their imminent battle has been foretold, but Ema must hone her powers if she's going to have a snowball's chance in hell of winning.

Luckily, Ema meets an Elite trainer named Bridget, but in the vampire world people are rarely who they seem. To save her new friends, Ema dives head-first into an alliance with the Alpan King, but she may be giving up more than she bargained for.

Feisty heroines, sensual romances, and butt-kicking action abound in this second installment of the 5x award-winning Ema Marx series by J.D. Brown.

Available in Print, Ebook, & Audio
Amazon   |   Barnes & Noble   |     Apple iBooks   |   Kobo   |   Books-a-Million   |   Scribd  |  Audible

Dark Becoming

Book Three

Schemes, Double-Crosses, And Evil Incarnate.

Ema Marx is in a race against time. Or rather, a race against Apollyon. A powerful weapon - the legendary philosopher's stone - could tip the scales in favor of whoever gets their fangs on it first. For Ema, obtaining the stone is an uphill battle through love, alliance, heartbreak, and loyalty.

Winning should mean the beginning of beautiful things, but the closer Ema gets to her destiny, the more uncertain her future becomes. Is it possible the prophecy was never meant for her? And why the heck doesn't morning sickness adhere to the rules of its own name?

Butt-kicking heroines, epic heartache, and pages that turn themselves abound in Dark Becoming, the third installment of the award-winning Ema Marx series by J.D. Brown.

Available in Print, Ebook, & Audio
Amazon   |   Barnes & Noble   |     Apple iBooks   |   Kobo   |   Books-a-Million   |   Scribd  |  Audible

Dark Ascension

Book Four

When One King Falls, Another Rises…

Defeating her nemesis is just the beginning for Ema Marx. Her past is about to catch up with her. Her future is bleak. A new enemy awaits. But her greatest challenge? Surviving her parents.

Or is it surviving her on-off relationship?

Wait … It’s definitely saving her unborn children.

Pretty sure.

Dark Ascension is the highly anticipated fourth installment of the 5x award-winning urban fantasy series by J.D. Brown. See why readers are comparing Ema Marx to Kate Daniels and Mercy Thompson. Get your copy today!

Available in Print, Ebook, & Audio
Amazon   |   Barnes & Noble   |     Apple iBooks   |   Kobo   |   Books-a-Million   |   Scribd  |  Audible

Dark Heiress

Book Five

Hell Hath No Fury Like A Mother Scorned.

Ema will stop at nothing to keep her innocent unborn twins safe. But with one prophesied to be the Messiah and the other pure evil, she may as well paint a target on their backs. And time is running out.

With war looming on the horizon, Ema must abandon her family to attend Elite training. Spies lurk around every corner and no one is who they say. Least of all the man Ema loves most.

Lives will be lost in the final battle for the Neo-Draugrian crown as passions are sacrificed for the survival of the vampyre race.

Who will fall and who will rise?

Find out in the long-awaited thrilling conclusion to The Ema Marx Series! One-click for your copy of
Dark Heiress now.

Available in Print, Ebook, & Audio
Amazon   |   Barnes & Noble   |     Apple iBooks   |   Kobo   |   Books-a-Million   |   Scribed  Audible

Novellas & Short Stories

The prequel novellas are stand-alone romance stories that take place within the Ema universe and can be read in any order.

AO Front Cover 4.png

Athena's Oracle

Prequel One

Her Love Was Doomed From The Start...

Leena’s ‘gift of sight’ secures her place as the next great oracle of Athena. Instead of being groomed for wifehood like other girls, Leena spends her days within the walls of the Acropolis, shuffled around by the clergy and doomed to be a virgin forever.


Before her ascension, Leena decides to take matters into her own hands. With the help of her father’s book of alchemy, she casts an incantation calling forth her own personal hero. But when that hero turns out to be a rogue vampyre prince with a haunted past, Leena begins to question if her feelings for him are the work of divine intervention, or a love spell gone horribly wrong.

Athena’s Oracle is a prequel to Dark Heirloom. Set in 4th century B.C.E., Athena’s Oracle chronicles the romance between Leena and Jalmari during the very early trials of their immortal lives.

Available in Print & Ebook

The Warrioress

Prequel Two

"My Life Before Yours, In Death and All Things"

Three-hundred years ago, a vampyre named Naamah caused the death of Maria’s father. Now Naamah is back, and he intends to finish off the werewolves. Maria will do anything to protect her pack, even if it means betraying her heart and marrying him. When a greater threat arises, Maria must set her bitterness aside and join forces with Naamah to save both their people. Can she trust him and still be true to herself, or will they undo each other before their enemy even reaches them?

Naamah must lead his people to safety, but championing peace in the process is difficult for a vampyre that’s better apt with a sword. He needs a princess’s touch to heal his battle-stricken clan, but what he gets instead is a warrioress. If he can’t earn Maria’s trust and tame the wolf within her, they’ll lose everything.

Set in 1100 B.C.E.,
The Warrioress is a prequel to The Ema Marx Series by J.D. Brown. This story chronicles the romance between Maria and Naamah during the very early trials of their immortal lives.

TW Front cover 4.png
Available in Ebook

**Spoiler Alert** A Vampyre Christmas Carol contains spoilers and should be read AFTER Book Five in the Ema Marx series.**
Fans who dislike spoilers will want to finish reading DARK HEIRESS first!

A Vampyre Christmas Carol

Vampyres don’t celebrate Christmas. Which is exactly why Princess Sara jumps at the chance to experience the festivities with her best friend. And where better to set the scene than Ema’s and Jesu’s castle in the arctic wilderness of northern Finland?

Except gingerbread and fir trees might not be enough to cure Sara’s ‘bah humbug’ spirit. It’ll take a true Christmas miracle—and one meddling ghost—to fix her broken heart.

**Spoiler Alert** A Vampyre Christmas Carol is a short novella that takes place after the events in DARK HEIRESS – Book Five in the Ema Marx series. Fans who dislike spoilers will want to finish reading DARK HEIRESS first!

FREE For A Limited Time!

>>> Click Here <<<

Five-Time Award Winning Series from 2012 - 2015

bottom of page